Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Facebook privacy hoax - lets be the slayer


Its been a week or so....and my FB wall is flooded with the SAME update from my friends' regarding  FB privacy settings update as follows.....

____________________________________________________________


To all my contacts, friends, I request you that with the recent changes in FB, now one can see things from people who are not in your contacts list. Just because a contact of yours makes a comment or “likes” in some activity of that person. I do not want people to contact me, and would like that they donot read and see all my comments and stuff. 

But I can not change this myself because facebook has configured it this way. But you can do it for me. PLEASE place your mouse over my name above (do not click), a window will appear and move the mouse on “Friends”; (also without clicking), then down to “Settings”, click here and a list will appear. Click “Comments and Like” and it would thereby remove the CHECK. By doing this my activity amongst my friends does not become public.

A Thousand Thanks!

Paste this on your wall for your contacts, if you care about your privacy! =)
_____________________________________________________________

I was curious and checked again my settings; changed to different privacy mode and checked ....and checked...I could not validate the authenticity. Then I could not resist but checked in Facebooks own page regarding any such updates....could not find. Rather its clearly stated that no one can change your privacy level. However, with the searches and trial-n-errors, its been clear, 'its a hoax'....and this blog post is a small attempt to slay it head on :)  

As far as I know FB, the above stuff has nothing to with privacy. Just hovering over a friend’s name and unsubscribing comments and likes in your news feed wont change the privacy setting. Although you can control who sees you posts (set to friends only or certain list only), you can not control the privacy of the posts you’re commenting on, as it is controlled by the poster or the person who wrote the post.

According to FB privacy options, if you post a comment or like a public post, your comment or like will be public too. Similarly, if you are commenting to a friend’s post whose privacy is set to friends of friends, then your comment and like will be visible to your friends and to strangers too.

If you would like to keep your Facebook likes and comments as private as you wish, it’s only YOU who can do it. Make it a habit to always check who can see the privacy of the posts you want to like or comment on (see the picture above). The sharing icon on the lower right of the post will tell you how the post is shared. Limit your comments/like to public posts or posts that are set to friends of friends. 

Hope, the hoax is slayed... and "please don’t hover over my name and spread this Facebook hoax".





 



No comments: